Brown Stew Chicken with Yard Style Gravy

I’ve been poorly with a bad head cold this week (not the flu, if you are a male reader) and I haven’t been able to taste anything at all. This has understandably taken the edge off any enthusiasm I had for cooking  but last night, despite my infirmity, I had guests so I had to cook. I wouldn’t have minded just dumping a takeaway menu in front of them and asking them to make their own arrangements while I went to bed in all truth, but people generally expect free grub and company out of a dinner invite so I manned up with a curry. Another Levi Roots recipe, this time from his Reggae Reggae cookbook (one of the few savoury recipes within not requiring a dose of his Reggae Reggae sauce, which I have never tried, but feel slightly reluctant to – surely there must have been Jamaican cooking before Reggae Reggae Sauce?) Anyway, I fear the Lemsip has driven me off the point. I wanted an easy curry. This is an easy curry. Rated as ‘Wow, delicious!’ and ‘Really, really very good’ by my fellow diners, I reckon it tasted just fine . I just cannot vouch for it personally, you understand. Serves 4-6

brownstewchicken

  • 16 pieces of chicken thigh, drumstick or breast, skin removed.
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp all purpose seasoning
  • vegetable oil
  • 3 spring onions, coarsely chopped
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 1 scotch bonnet chilli, seeded and chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • knob of butter

Put the chicken in a non metallic dish, sprinkle over the lemon, salt and pepper and the all purpose seasoning. Use your hands to rub everything into the chicken flesh and leave in the fridge for at least 30 minutes and up to overnight.

In a large, deep flameproof casserole dish, add about half a centimetre depth of your vegetable oil and heat over a medium flame until its very hot, and then add your chicken in batches of four or five pieces at a time. Cook until browned on each side and leave on a plate while you finish the rest of the batches. When the chicken is all done, pour out most of your oil and leave just a small bit coating the pan. Retuen the chicken to the pot, along with any left over juices or seasoning mixture and the rest of the ingredients. Stir them all together until well combined and then add 450 ml water. Cover, and bring to simmering point. When simmering, remove the lid and cook for 15-20 minutes. Serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

