Peppers and Chorizo

Time is tight at the moment. So, I could have made this quicker. On the other hand, I’m not sure that going the long way round isn’t sometimes a reward in itself. That is unless you hate cooking.

I was just going to make a spicy red pepper sauce to serve over some cooked chicken, which is why I peeled the peppers in the first place. If you’re going to make a sauce you don’t really want the skins hanging about. But then I had an unexpected third for dinner and needed something a bit more substantial. Plus I had some chorizo hanging around so this just seemed like a nice way to go with  it. Eventually served with chicken and rice and enough for 3/4 as a side dish. You don’t have to char and then peel the peppers if you don’t want to.

pepperchorizo

  • 4 peppers, red or yellow or both. green are NOT suitable for this dish (or many that I can think of)
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • half a hoop of chorizo, chopped into pound coin size chunks
  • small red chilli, finely chopped
  • half glass of white wine
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Right, so, if you’re going to peel the peppers, follow these instructions. Its really not the end of the world if you choose not to, but its quite an enjoyable little job and you get a better dish. Slice the peppers into long strips, about a centimetre wide.

In a pan, heat some olive oil and slowly cook the garlic and chill and chorizo until the chorizo browns slightly and begins to release its oil. Add the pepper slices and cook, stirring occasionally over a medium heat until the peppers begin to soften. Season and slosh in the wine and bring to a simmer. Then turn down the heat and cook very slowly for around 20 minutes. Serve.

pepperchorizo&chicken

3 Responses to Peppers and Chorizo

  1. Rosie says:

    Scrummy! And I think you’re right about the green peppers, though I have had them in a few very good Chinese dishes.

    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

    PS. Ahh, someone else has been playing with their blog layout! Very smart, though I did like the other one for quirkiness. What do you think of my new one?

  2. VegBoxBoy says:

    Nice new layout; very professional.

    Nice recipe too. I’d use two or three chilli’s for that; but then I’ll admit to being a bit obsessed. You didn’t specify in what direction to cut the chillis; according to last night’s MasterChef Professionals you shouldn’t cut them across-wise; I like across-wise myself – I like the occaisional random super hot bits.

  3. Greedy Rosie says:

    Rosie – I do love the new blog look.
    I know that in certain cusines like chinese and cajun, green peppers are fairly widely used. Maybe I’ll try a recipe one day and try and see the good side.

    Vegboxboy – I chop my chillis pretty randomly actually, but probably they are cut across-wise at least some of the time. I don’t care about hot bits really – unless we’re talking Scotch Bonnet or Naga.
    I’ve given up on Masterchef though for now – I’m sure I’ll be back for the semi finals though

Leave a Reply

