Lamb and Feta Gnocchi (or pasta, if it pleases you)

lambandfetagnocchi

Last night, whilst cooking sausage and mash, I was pondering (aloud) whether a chopped chilli would bring anything to the onion gravy I was planning to make. Mr Greedy took a deep breath and confronted me, with my problem. An intervention, if you will. The message was simple: Not everything you cook, Greedy Rosie, needs to have chilli in it. And I went to protest of course but then I realised he was right. I want to put chilli in everything I cook. I look back on the food on this blog and find that the majority of meals have chilli in them. My name is GreedyRosie. And I am a chilliholic.

Naturally, tonight’s tea was to have chilli in it. I think I naturally pick recipes that are likely to work well with my favourite pepper. After deciding that I was not going to add them, I started wondering about capers. There are no capers in this either.You can make your own gnocchi if you like, its not a difficult task, but I don’t have the time or energy to do it today and I certainly don’t have the time to write how. So maybe another day. This dish served 2, generously.

  • 500g gnocci
  • 500g lamb mince
  • olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • juice of one lemon
  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 200g feta cheese, crumbled
  • small handful mint, roughly chopped
  • small handful parsley, roughly chopped
  • salt & pepper

Sweat off the onion and the garlic in around a tablespoon of olive oil over a low heat in a frying pan with some salt and pepper. It should take about 5 minutes in total. Turn the heat up and crumble the lamb mince in. Give it a quick mix round to combine the onion, garlic and mince, and then leave in the pan to brown. Once browned, mix again in the pan until throroughly browned all over.

Add your tomatoes and lemon juice and give it another quick stir, and turn the heat down to medium – low. Start cooking the gnocchi as per pack instructions (will need to simmer for 2-3 minutes). When the gnocchi is cooked, put your feta, mint and parsley in with the lamb and stir it around. Drain the gnocchi, and put in with the lamb, feta and herbs. Combine, and serve.

Leave a Reply

