Chilli Chicken Tacos

I haven’t been cooking a great deal lately. Despite my best efforts, a lack of time and energy have got the better of me and I have been living off cartons of soup and supermarket pizzas for the most part. Moving to a full time job and studying for professional exams all in one swoop doesn’t seem like quite such a clever idea after all now. Inspiration has been in hiding and evades me as I shop, and I decided that I can easily sacrifice interesting dinners for convenience. I had better watch it, or I will be eating ready meals every night at this rate.

Anyway, I decided it was time to make at least a little effort and I produced this. I couldn’t find any other way to buy the tacos than buy them in a sort of all-in-one taco kit but the idea of salsa in a packet and the taco seasoning didn’t really appeal to me so I slung them. Wasteful and not cost effective, I know, so by all means, use them if you wish. I have a real hatred (strong term, but true) for avocado, so decided to make a fruity salsa rather than a guacamole with this.  Recipe serves 4.

For the Chicken:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken thighs, or breasts if you prefer, but maybe only 3. Free range please. Diced.
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed,
  • 1 or 2 chillies, finely chopped.
  • 1 red pepper, finely diced
  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes,
  • heaped tsp Cumin
  • tbsp chopped coriander
  • 1 tbsp groundnut oil
  • salt & pepper

Heat the oil in a large frying pan and add your onions, garlic, chilli and cumin and salt & pepper. Cook over a medium-low heat for 10 minutes or so until the onion has softened and then add your pepper and then the chicken, and fry until the meat is no longer pink. Pour in your can of tomatoes and cook over a low heat for at least 20 minutes. Meanwhile…

For the Salsa

  • 1 small mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 yellow or red pepper, diced the same size as the mango
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 spring onion, very finely chopped
  • ½ chilli, finely chopped
  • heaped tbsp chopped coriander
  • juice of 1 lime

Put all the ingredients into a bowl and stir. It might be nicer if you can do this bit a little ahead of time to give the flavours plenty of time to mingle, but if like me you can’t, you can’t.

When you’re ready to eat, cook the tacos in the oven as per the packet instructions and stir in the coriander with your chicken. Serve with grated cheese, soured cream and maybe some pickled jalapeños (my new addiction). Scoff.

5 Responses to Chilli Chicken Tacos

  1. Rebecca says:

    sounds great nice blog

  2. kvnstv says:

    Nice one, I love Mexican food so think i’ll have a go at that. Not the Salsa though because that looks like work and it comes in pots.

  3. Donkey Face says:

    “free range please”???

    Surely what you want to say is:

    “If you aren’t willing to spend a little extra on happy chickens then you have no right to read this blog and should f*** off”?

  4. Juice says:

    2 hours early. But merry christmas rottie!

Leave a Reply

