Celebration Steak Dinner

Steak Frites

Green & Black’s Strawberry Icecream

I have finished my job – hence the celebrating – and I start a new one on Monday (my birthday – how dumb am I?) so I have a couple of days off. Cue another hugely costly trip to Legoland with the boy and a big night out on Friday with my closest work buddies culminating in a curry. A birthday meal with the squeeze on Saturday night and a family dinner on Sunday. I am going to be the size of my house.

Anyway, its a been a long day. And a long month, actually. I’m trying to stay away from takeaway, as always, but I wanted a dinner that felt like a treat without much too much effort so I picked up some steaks and icecream on the way home. I already had everything else I needed.To make chips yourself, you will need three things:

  • deepfat frier (or a chip pan, if like me you are cheap enough to live on the edge),
  • oil – preferably sunflower or groundnut
  • spuds. Maris Piper or King Edward – around 175g potato per person

There is nothing very hard about making chips, not as easy as oven chips I grant you, but infinitely nicer. Peel your potatoes and cut them in to chips about 1/2 inch wide by 1/2 inch deep . The fatter the chip, the healthier allegedly as they absorb less oil overall  (but lets not pretend health has got anything to do with this). Put them in a bowl of cold water and leave them to soak. Fill the chip pan to about 2/3 full and heat your oil to about 180*, then drain and dry your chips thoroughly, with a clean tea towel. Carefully lower your chips into the hot oil and cook for about 10 minutes until the potatoes are soft, but not browned. You can do this stage in advance if you like. Take them out of the oil and turn the oil up. Lower the chips back in, when the oil is at 200 and then cook until brown and crispy. Drain on kitchen towel and sprinkle with salt.

Meanwhile, cook your steak. I like rump and ribeye steak for these purposes. Ensure the steaks are at room temperature and take a heavy frying pan. Heat the pan until very slightly smoking, coat the steaks with olive oil and season with salt and pepper and put them into the frying pan. Cook over a medium heat for three – four minutes on the first side, without touching or agitating the steaks and then turn over and cook for another two- three, depending on the thickness of your steak.. When you see small pools of blood on top of the steak you know they are done. Remove and rest them for a few minutes on warm plates before adding the chips and serving.

Serve with mustard, tommy K and a slice of white bread in order to make a chip butty.

Take the icecream out of the freezer a few minutes before you plan to serve it. Serve and eat it.

*If you don’t have a thermometer for your deep fat fryer, the oil is hot enough when you can drop a chip in and it sizzles and risees to the surface within about 30 seconds

4 Responses to Celebration Steak Dinner

  1. Greedy Rosie, I couldn’t find a link to contact you via email, so am leaving you a comment here.

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog (Pesto Potato Salad). I don’t have any other pesto recipes on my site, but I would try something like macadamia nuts or cashews in place of the almonds or pine nuts. Cilantro pestos with cashews turn out really nicely, too. Good luck!

  2. Sounds like a great way to celebrate! And, I think I should make chips at home more often.

Leave a Reply

